There's a much longer list of acronyms here.


STEMNet:Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics Network.

eSkills is the Sector Skills Council for Business and Information Technology

BCS: British Computer Society

IET: Institution of Engineering and Technology

NAACE is "the professional association for those concerned with advancing education through the appropriate use of information and communications technology (ICT)".

SSAT: the Specialist Schools and Academies Trust  "works to give practical support to the transformation of secondary education in England by building and enabling a world-class network of innovative, high-performing secondary schools in partnership with business and the wider community".

BECTA is "the government agency leading the national drive to ensure the effective and innovative use of technology throughout learning"

TDA: the Training and Development Agency for Schools

QCA is the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority.  Leads the reform of education and training programmes that equip learners, teaching professionals and employers with the skills and support they need to meet the demands of the 21st century.

Ofqual is the Office of the Qualifications and Examinations Regulator regulator. It started work, taking over the regulatory functions of QCA, in April 2008.

OFSTED school inspection service run by HMI. Job is to maintain high standards in schools through inspection and reporting.

AQA, OCR, Edexcel: are awarding organisations. They develop qualifications to specifications produced by QCA and scrutinised by Ofqual

TLM, BCS and OCN: other awarding organisations that are members of e-skills Awarding Body Forum and have the capacity to develop new computing qualifications for schools.

DCSF: Department for Children Schools and Families - the government department responsible for schools

BIS: Department for Business, Innovation and Skills - the government department responsible for Further Education (FE), Higher Education (HE), and training

ACM: Association for Computing Machinery - "the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, delivers resources that advance computing as a science and a profession"

Grades, exams, and levels

Key stage and Year describe how far a child has progressed through their education:

◦Key stage 1: primary school, Years 2-6,

◦Key stage 2: primary school,ages 7-11

◦Key stage 3: secondary school, Years 7,8,9, age 11-14.

◦Key stage 4: a two-year stage leading to GCSE and other qualifications eg Diplomas and vocational certificates, Years 10,11, age 14-16.

◦Key stage 5: a two-year stage leading to A levels and other qualifications eg Diplomas and vocational certificates, Years 12, 13, age 16-19

Education speak

NC: National Curriculum - Statutory orders determining mandatory provision in state schools.

SOW: Scheme of work - Scheme of work - Summary of what will be taught over a series of lessons.

POS: Programme of study - What will be covered (broadly a not too detailed syllabus) and these are statutory in the National Curriculum

AT: Attaiment target - Describes what a learner should know or be able to do - organised into levels for the National Curriculum. National Curriculum levels roughly map to the NQF/QCF levels and GCSE and GCE A level as follows

◦National Currlculum Level 1   - Entry Level 1

◦National Curriculum Level 2   - Entry Level 2

◦National Curriculum Level 3   - Entry Level 3

◦National Currciulum Level 4   - Level 1 Pass - GCSE Grade F/G

◦National Curriculum Level 5   - Level 1 Pass with Merit - GCSE Grade E

◦National Curriculum Level 6   - Level 1 Pass with Distinction - GCSE Grade D

◦National Curriciulum Level 7  - Level 2 Pass - C grade GCSE

◦National Curriculum Level 8   - Level 2 Pass - B grade GCSE

◦National Curriculum Level 9   - Level 2 Pass - A grade GCSE

◦National Curricullum Level 10 - Level 2 Pass - A* grade GCSE

▪Level 3 Pass - A level Grade D/E

▪Level 3 Merit - A level C

▪Level 3 Distinction - A level A/B

School KPIs - Key performance indicators for schools. Points scores and 5 A*-C indicator inc maths and English. Points are calculated on the basis of the size and level of a qualification. A full GCSE grade C is worth 40 points and A* 58. The 5 A*-C indicator is the percentage of pupils getting 5 A*-C grades or equivalent including GCSE maths and English. These indicators are important in OFSTED inspections and in school leaue table positions

NQF: National Qualifications Framework - Contains GCE and GCSE qualifications and many others. These are in the process of transitioning to the QCF but GCE and GCSE will take longer because of structural problems.

QCF Qualifications and Credit Framework - New framework designed for credit transfer and greater flexibility with common shared units across all Awarding Organisations. Aim is for all qualifications to transition to the QCF.

EQF: European Qualifications Framework - Metaframework to provide parity between national frameworks across Europe. The QCF is compatible with the EQF.

AFL: Assessment for learning. The focus of using on-going assessment to inform personalised learning such that individuals understand where they are and what they need to do to progress to the next stage.

APL: Accreditation of prior learning. Giving credit to students for learning that has already taken place and might obviate the need for some courses or parts of courses.

APP: Assessment of pupil progress. A national strategy for improving attainment based on individual progress measures in relation to national standards.

PLTS: personal learning and thinking skills. A framework in the national curriculum for describing the skills and qualities required for success in learning and in life.